Carroll County - Metro Atlanta Guidebook


Carroll County Georgia consists of the following cities:
Bowdon (features the Shelnutt/Wessinger house, one of the oldest houses in Bowdon, which is now a museum dedicated to the history of the city)
Carrollton (nicknamed the 'Friendly City' and the county seat, Carrollton has one of nine Georgia courthouses (referred to as an Italian Renaissance Revival Palace) built by famous architect William J.J. Chase of Atlanta. Home of John Tanner State Park, Carrollton is host to a variety of festivals including Carrollton Mayfest, Cherry Chase, Sunbelt Jazz and Taste of Carrollton)
Mount Zion (formerly known as Turkey Creek Mill, named for the abundance of wild turkey found in the area)
Roopville (a small, close-knit community located on a high ridge in southern Carroll County featuring an annual Roopville Homecoming Festival in September)
Temple (considered to be the third fastest growing city in Carroll County, the towns beginnings can be traced to the growth days of the railroads)
Villa Rica (the citys current day name translates "City of Gold" and is indicative of the fact that it is indeed a city rich in advantages, especially with it's location which combines country and city living)
Whitesburg (called "the little town with a big heart", Whitesburg is a busy, progressive place)

In its early history, Carroll County was often called the "Free State of Carroll" because of its large size and independent character. Nestled in the foothills of the Appalachian Mountains - the county is located in the West central section of Georgia on the Georgia - Alabama line with 495 square miles of beauty, recreation and history. Its close proximity to Atlanta (45 miles) affords businesses and residents the opportunities of "big-city" convenience in a small town lifestyle.

Carroll County Georgia is situated in the midst of the rolling northwest Georgia countryside and offers a mixture of culture, history and economic growth with country living and a relaxed lifestyle.

To Advertise In Carroll County Georgia


Roger Bredow
Phone: 706-335-3841

Add Business Listing
Barrow County
Bartow County
Carroll County
Cherokee County
Clayton County
Cobb County
Coweta County
DeKalb County
Douglas County
Fayette County
Forsyth County
Fulton County
Gwinnett County
Hall County
Henry County
Newton County
Paulding County
Rockdale County
Spalding County
Walton County
© 2021 Roger Bredow dba/Valuecom