Fayette County - Metro Atlanta Guidebook


Fayette County Georgia consists of the following cities:
Brooks- Situated near the former site of a Creek Nation village and trading post, Brooks, Georgia is part of the Creek history in this area. In fact, Indian artifacts can be found to this day in the freshly tilled soil.

Fayetteville- Incorporated and made county seat of Fayette County on December 20th, 1823, Fayetteville, Georgia was named in honor of the French soldier Marquis de Lafayette who fought against England in the American Revolution. Fayetteville prides itself on the courthouse (built in 1825) which is the oldest in Georgia and listed on the National Register of Historic Places. Fayetteville hosts many annual events including the Old Courthouse Art Show in May, the Main Street Festival in October and Christmas in Fayetteville in December.

Inman - A quaint town that boasts an old depot named “Ackert”. It was thus named to avoid confusion with the Inman Yards in Atlanta. Be sure to check out the annual Inman Farm Heritage Days Show held each September at the Minter Farm.

Peachtree City - Founded in 1959, Peachtree City is the largest city in the county and is one of America's most successful ‘master-planned cities’. Across its 15,000 acres, the city features more than 125 neighborhoods nestled within four distinct "villages"--Braelinn, Aberdeen, Glenloch, and Kedron. A thriving community of more than 30,000 residents Peachtree City provides gathering places and paths to bring people together while protecting natural areas for everyone's enjoyment. There are two 250-acre lakes, 70+ miles of cart paths, two state highways, 3 golf courses, two conference centers, an airport, an amphitheater, a library and various recreational amenities. Pathway Communities has successfully given the city a sense of uniqueness and harmony, while giving YOU a sense of real belonging.

Tyrone - Incorporated on August 18, 1911, Tyrone, Georgia was reportedly named by the people who built the railroad there in 1907. The land which originally belonged to the Creek Indians, was settled by Irish farmers in the late 1800's. These Scotch and Irish immigrants thought it reminded them of the area around County Tyrone in Ireland and some of the homes built by those first settlers are still occupied by their descendants.

Woolsey - The smallest town in Fayette County, Woolsey, Georgia was originally ruled by the Creek Indians and was named after a prominent doctor who served in the Confederacy before being injured. The first white settlers moved here around 1880. Race fans become familiar with Woolsey as they follow the signs to Atlanta Motor Speedway!

Fayette County - “Where Quality Is A Lifestyle” - is Georgia’s 49th county and is considered by it’s residents to be a special place where rural beauty and traditional roots blend with urban convenience and amenities.

The Fayette County Community has earned a place among the most favored communities in America. It is located only 30 minutes from the heart of Downtown Atlanta and boasts a lifestyle supported by well-planned surroundings, a low crime rate, a superior education system and vast recreational opportunities.

The county and its county seat, Fayetteville, were both named for Marquis de LaFayette, one of General George Washington’s commanders in the Revolutionary War.

To Advertise In Fayette County Georgia


Roger Bredow
Phone: 706-335-3841
Email: valuecom@yahoo.com

Add Business Listing
Barrow County
Bartow County
Carroll County
Cherokee County
Clayton County
Cobb County
Coweta County
DeKalb County
Douglas County
Fayette County
Forsyth County
Fulton County
Gwinnett County
Hall County
Henry County
Newton County
Paulding County
Rockdale County
Spalding County
Walton County
© 2021 Roger Bredow dba/Valuecom