Fulton County - Metro Atlanta Guidebook


Fulton County Georgia is the most diverse county in the metropolitan area. Long considered to be dual counties, North Fulton is very different from South Fulton, and both are very distinct from the city of Atlanta.

North Fulton consists of the following cities:
Alpharetta was legally chartered on December 11, 1858. One of the fastest growing communities in the South, Alpharetta’s environment is considered ideal for raising families and living a quality lifestyle free from the problems found in so many similar sized cities.
Roswell The City of Roswell was founded by Roswell King who came from St. Simons Island, GA in 1836. President Theodore Roosevelt’s family trees branches back to Roswell. Teddy’s mother, Martha (Mittie) Bulloch was the daughter of one of Roswell’s first families.
Atlanta Founded in 1837, Atlanta, the Capital City Of The Southeast, is a city of the future with strong ties to its past. Atlanta's attractions are known the world over for its parks, sports teams, shopping, museums, and entertainment. It is home to a massive list of landmarks and attractions including the Atlanta Botanical Garden, Grant Park & Zoo and the Atlanta Cyclorama & Civil War Museum, Fernbank Museum of Natural History, the famous Fox Theater, Georgia Aquarium, Georgia Dome, Georgia World Congress Center, Margaret Mitchell House, Six Flags Amusement Park, Turner Field, World of Coca-Cola, Centennial Olympic Park and Underground Atlanta. The city of Atlanta is the financial, administrative and distribution center as well as the cultural, retail, entertainment, communications and transportation hub for the three million people who call the area home, as well as for the entire Southeast.
Mountain Park is home to Indian Spring which was believed to have medicinal, life-sustaining value by the Cherokee Indians that lived in the area long ago. Braves would leave their homes in the hills and travel miles to retrieve Indian Spring water for an ailing Cherokee chieftain. Local lore holds that those who find their way into Mountain Park and the area of Indian Spring are drawn by the powers of the healing waters. Until the 1960s, Indian Spring was the only source of water for many residents.
Sandy Springs (once known as Hammond) is a newly-incorporated city (as of December 2005). It is named for the sandy spring which still exists in the city today, protected by a park. Once a rural village and summer retreat -- it is not only Georgia's newest city, but also its seventh largest.

South Fulton consists of the following cities:
College Park, the fourth largest urban historic district in Georgia, is located near the Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International Airport, Interstates I-85 and I-285, the CSX Railroad and Metropolitan Atlanta Rapid Transit Authority (MARTA). A city where growth and progress embrace the past to enhance the future, downtown College Park anchors the city with its historic Main Street business district.
East Point is one of Georgia's fastest growing cities. It is the gateway to Fort McPherson and the diversity of its people and the quaintness of its neighborhoods take you back to a time when close knit, home-town neighborhoods were central to daily living. As you stroll along the city's Main Street, you get a taste of the charm and magic that East Point has to offer.
Fairburn has a rich historical culture enjoyed by residents and visitors alike. Fairburn's slogan is "History Lives Here". It is a community of caring neighbors that are involved in fostering a community where families live and work together. The Georgia Renaissance Festival brings a quarter million people here each year to celebrate days of chivalry.
Hapeville is Atlanta’s ‘small city next-door neighbor’ and is home to the original Dwarf House Chick-fil-A, Delta Airlines Corporate Headquarters, Ford Motor Company, and Wachovia’s Processing Center, Hapeville is also a designated Main Street city with a historic downtown that is home not only to long time family owned businesses but new upscale restaurants, coffee houses, and retail shops. Whether your interests are professional, business or residential, “Hapeville is where it’s happening”.
Palmetto is a city located in Fulton County Georgia AND Coweta County Georgia. Palmetto is home to the settlement of Serenbe, a 900-acre sustainable living community.
Union Cityknown today as “The Progressive City”, was incorporated on August 17, 1908 when the city was in Campbell County. Campbell County went bankrupt during the Great Depression and merged with Fulton County. Prior to the incorporation of Union City, District Attorney Carmichael was instrumental in convincing the Farmer's Union to locate its national headquarters to the city. It was from this organization that the city received its name. Union City was named when the area became the meeting place of two railroads, the Atlanta and West Point and the Atlanta Birmingham and Atlantic Railroads.

Situated in North Central Georgia, with 600 square miles of land and 800,000 residents, Fulton County Georgia is the state’s largest and most populous. The City of Atlanta, the state capital, is also the county seat. That makes it the business, legal, financial and communications center of Georgia and the Southeast, a Mecca for tourists and conventioneers just passing through - and for business people looking for a new place to call home.
North of the city, high-quality living is one of the county’s biggest assets. Close-knit communities such as Sandy Springs, Roswell, Alpharetta and Mountain Park feature a wide range of middle- to upper-income single and multifamily residences - plus all the benefits of the suburban lifestyle. Communities such as College Park, East Point, Fairburn, Hapeville, Union City and Palmetto - not to mention Southwest Atlanta - offer both suburban and small-town living opportunities. Long-established, middle- and upper-income neighborhoods feature modestly priced land and upscale housing for residential and business buyers and tenants. With two-thirds of its acreage still available for development, South Fulton County is a veritable gold mine of opportunities.
All this diversity means that whatever you’re looking for - big-city chic, or small-town charm, slick commercial space or a serviceable warehouse - you’ll find it in Fulton County

To Advertise In Fulton County Georgia


Roger Bredow
Phone: 706-335-3841
Email: valuecom@yahoo.com

Add Business Listing
Barrow County
Bartow County
Carroll County
Cherokee County
Clayton County
Cobb County
Coweta County
DeKalb County
Douglas County
Fayette County
Forsyth County
Fulton County
Gwinnett County
Hall County
Henry County
Newton County
Paulding County
Rockdale County
Spalding County
Walton County
© 2021 Roger Bredow dba/Valuecom