Paulding County - Metro Atlanta Guidebook

A Look At The History Of Paulding County Georgia

Once part of the Cherokee territory until the "Trail of Tears", the county was formed on December 3, 1832 by the Georgia Legislature and named for Revolutionary War patriot John Paulding.

Many Civil War sites are located in Paulding County, making it a popular vacation site for history buffs. A monument and memorial park stand at New Hope Church, describing events of the well known battle fought in 1864 between Generals Sherman and Johnston. Pickett's Mill Historic State Site is one of the best preserved battlefields in the nation. It is the site of the bloody 1864 battle between Generals Sherman and Howard at which Union troops trying to flank Confederate lines were turned away from Paulding County toward Kennesaw.

Paulding County citizens today live in the best of both worlds. The attractions and advantages of living near Atlanta are available to them while they enjoy life in a picturesque rural setting. Modern and traditional characteristics blend together. Architecture ranging from contemporary to antebellum styles can be found here. The communities of Paulding County are family-oriented and boast an excellent county-wide school system and a wide variety of activities for all interests.

Named for George Mifflin Dallas, vice president under James K. Polk, Dallas has been the county seat since 1851. A ten acre park and expansion of the downtown area have resulted from its charm and downtown retail potential.

Paulding County is a beautiful place in which to live or do business. Come find out why for yourself!

To obtain a visitor's guide, newcomer's packet or quality of life magazine, call the Chamber of Commerce at (770) 445-6106.

Add Business Listing
Barrow County
Bartow County
Carroll County
Cherokee County
Clayton County
Cobb County
Coweta County
DeKalb County
Douglas County
Fayette County
Forsyth County
Fulton County
Gwinnett County
Hall County
Henry County
Newton County
Paulding County
Rockdale County
Spalding County
Walton County
© 2021 Roger Bredow dba/Valuecom